About our Training Courses-

Breastfeeding Together deliver Breastfeeding Peer Support Training at both Level 2 and Level 3. These in depth training courses have been developed and are led by our team of experienced Peer Supporters who have over 20 years of experience of supporting families with breastfeeding.

Breastfeeding Peer Support Training Level 2

The Level 2 Training is designed for mothers who are breastfeeding or who have breastfed in the past and who now wish to develop their knowledge of breastfeeding and gain new skills, knowledge and confidence in supporting a mother to effectively breastfeed.

The aim of the course is to enable course participants to be able to support mothers both in the antenatal and postnatal period by providing independent evidence-based research and up to date breastfeeding and information and support.

Expected Learning Outcomes

  • Understand the role of a Breastfeeding Peer Supporter.
  • Be able to describe a range of communication methods including the advantages and disadvantages of each.
  • Be able to identify the health benefits of breastfeeding.
  • Be able to describe the key points needed for a mother to position and attach her baby.
  • Understand the importance of educating women and their families so they can make an informed choice on how to feed their baby.
  • Be able to identify the common breastfeeding problems.
  • Be able to describe different ways to feed a baby breast milk.
  • Be able to demonstrate knowledge of the principles of hand expression, having the ability to show these to mothers.

Breastfeeding Peer Support Training Level 3

The Level 3 training is designed for qualified Breastfeeding Peer Supporters who have actively volunteered and gained supporting experience for a minimum of one year.

The aim of the course is to provide an opportunity to further your knowledge and skills and gain a greater understanding of emotional and practical support and the place of breastfeeding in modern society.

Expected Learning Outcomes

  • Show an awareness of how babies were fed historically.
  • Be able to accurately describe the core conditions of counselling .
  • Be able to reflect on a breastfeeding mother’s feelings and describe a level of appropriate support in different settings, incorporating counselling skills.
  • To be able to list positive and negative impacts on support groups (physical/virtual)
  • Be able to describe infant feeding practices in your local area, nationally and worldwide.
  • Be able to describe and show understanding of Unicef Baby Friendly Standards.
  • To show competency in supporting a mother in a range of difficult breastfeeding situations.
  • To demonstrate the use of accurate, non-biased research and presenting this with appropriate references.
  • To demonstrate effective use of active listening and responding skills.
  • To show awareness of how your ability to support in challenging situations can be affected and describe coping strategies that can be deployed to help.

At the end of these courses successful learners will receive a Certificate of Achievement from ABC Awards and Certa Awards and a Learner Unit Summary (which lists the components the learner has completed as part of the course).

The courses have been endorsed under the ABC Awards and Certa Awards Quality Licence Scheme. This means that Breastfeeding Together has undergone an external quality check to ensure that the organisation and the courses it offers, meet defined quality criteria. The completion of this course alone does not lead to a regulated qualification* but may be used as evidence of knowledge and skills gained. The Learner Unit Summary may be used as evidence towards Recognition of Prior Learning if you wish to progress your studies in this subject. To this end the learning outcomes of the course have been benchmarked at Level 2/Level 3 against level descriptors published by Ofqual, to indicate the depth of study and level of demand/complexity involved in successful completion by the learner.

The courses themselves have been designed by Breastfeeding Together to meet specific learners’ and/or employers’ requirements which cannot be satisfied through current regulated qualifications. ABC Awards & Certa Awards endorsement involves robust and rigorous quality audits by external auditors to ensure quality is continually met. A review of courses is carried out as part of the endorsement process.

ABC Awards and Certa Awards have long-established reputations for providing high quality vocational qualifications across a wide range of industries. ABC Awards and Certa Awards combine over 180 years of expertise combined with a responsive, flexible and innovative approach to the needs of our customers.

Renowned for excellent customer service, and quality standards, ABC Awards and Certa Awards also offer regulated qualifications for all ages and abilities post-14; all are developed with the support of relevant stakeholders to ensure that they meet the needs and standards of employers across the UK.

*Regulated qualification refers to those qualifications that are regulated by Ofqual / CCEA / Qualification Wales

If you are interested in training to be a Breastfeeding Peer Supporter please email enquiries@breastfeedingtogether.co.uk or ring 01942 777903 for more information.